Japan Earthquake and Tsunami: Just a Few Words

3/11/2011, 2:46 pm

As Japan reels from the massive earthquake and tsunami that — in more ways than one — have shaken the entire nation to its core, and as the people of Nihon continue to brace for a potential nuclear disaster, this blog joins the many voices across cyberspace and all over the world in extending sympathies to everyone who has lost loved ones, livelihood and property to this inconceivable tragedy.

Our thoughts and prayers go with them, even as we all continue to hope that the worst is already over.

– Lessandra

How to help

***
Photo: cnn.com

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

29 Comments on “Japan Earthquake and Tsunami: Just a Few Words”

  1. ralphm1999 Says:

    I have watched the pictures and news from this terrible event until I had to turn off the TV. I do not have the words to express my deep grief for the survivors who have to endure the loss of their most beloved family, nor can I erase the vision of the victims ordeal in the grips of this unrelenting force.
    I want to join in offering my help in whatever small way I can participate. My sympathies and prayers to all the people of Japan.

    Ralph

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Hi Ralph🙂 I know, the images and video clips being streamed on CNN still send shivers down my spine even though I’ve seen them over and over again. (And now they’re warning of partial meltdowns in 2 of the nuclear plants — yikes.) I know that being no stranger to trauma and loss, you can understand what the survivors must be going through, perhaps better than most of us. I can’t even begin to wrap my mind around the sheer scale of the destruction and loss of life wreaked by the quake and tsunami. How do we make sense of all this?:-/ At least international aid has begun to pour in. I guess it’s times like these that also bring out the best in us.

      Here back home we’re all just holding our breath, wondering when the next big one will hit us. It seems like we’re the only country left on the western rim of the Ring of Fire that hasn’t experienced a major quake in the last 2 years — although seismologists say we’re long overdue (our last big one was the 1990 quake). Dunno if that’s a good thing or a bad thing, though. x__O Still, I know we’re all hoping and praying for the best.

  2. Jenny Says:

    I’ve been watching the streaming news since friday and I’m still shocked. Luckily I got in touch with my japanese friends who are okay but it’s heratbreaking to think of all the people who lost their homes and loved ones.
    My friends and I donated to the red cross hoping to be of little help.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Hey Jenny! I know your “little help” will go a long way in making a difference in the lives of the survivors.😉 My heart especially goes out to the elderly residents of Sendai and the neighboring towns. How they could have escaped to higher ground in the few short minutes before the tsunami struck is beyond me. They lived through a world war, but apparently for many of them, not this.😦

      Anyway, if there’s a silver lining to be seen in all this, it’s that all Johnnies are safe and accounted for… er, I meant, some J-celebs are launching fund-raising drives/benefit concerts of their own to add to the growing relief effort. At least they’re stepping up, ne =)

      • Jenny Says:

        Yeah, well I hope it is of some help.
        I read some survivors reports and it’s heartbreaking, many tried to hold on to their loved ones but had to see the water take them away etc. And now the the powerplant in Fukishima, I do hope it works out.

        Hehe, yes it does seem all the johnnies are safe apart from some minor injuries.
        Some juniors though it seems lost their houses unfortunately so hopefully Johnny-san will give them a raise.

        • Ender's Girl Says:

          I know, the survivor accounts just punch a hole through your heart, don’t they? I’m sure we’ve all heard about the 60-year-old man who was adrift for 2 days and got rescued after waving a red cloth, while his wife had simply gotten swept away in the deluge. Incredible.

          I heard YamaPi (or his dog?) got a little battered in an auto accident during the quake? :-O And yeah, there was this one Junior (I don’t recall who) whose family home is in Sendai. Was in Sendai. Poor kiddo.😦 (I definitely second that raise, Johnny-san!!!)

          • Jenny Says:

            I mean for majority of the survivors it must be such a blessing that they survived but many of them still lost someone. Did you read about the baby who they found after 3 days and she was healthy(I honestly started crying it was such good news after all the bad ones)

            Yeah, it was a junior who lost his home. The guys of Tokio all got a bit battered but nothing worse. Well now the jimusho seem to be helping the victims, now why don’t they send the boys to do some entertaining to the shelters ^^

          • Ender's Girl Says:

            Yeah, I read about that baby too!!! Truly a miracle child, ne?🙂 It’s hearing news like this that makes us keep hoping for the best ^^;;

            “Well now the jimusho seem to be helping the victims, now why don’t they send the boys to do some entertaining to the shelters ^^” << LOL I think that's an excellent idea! Wouldn't hurt for them boys to bring some good ol' Jimusho cheer to the victims in the best way they know how.😀

  3. ralphm1999 Says:

    As you mentioned the dreaded phrase ‘overdue’ it occurred to me that suddenly those who seem to know are finding every big fault ‘overdue’. For sure the San Andreas fault is 140 years late already and it’s a mere 30 miles from me… yikes. Then a fault I had never heard of before along the Oregon coast is also overdue and it’s identical to the fault that ruptured two days ago and finally your own neighborly fault that you say, they say, it too is ‘overdue’.

    Re: your reply to Jenny, I am very much aware and heartened by the multitude of sources that are rushing aid of all kinds to the bereft in Northern Japan. As always, it is so good that so many of our drama idols are showing they are more than images on a screen, that they have sincere hearts and do not need coaching or urging to be in the vanguard of so many relief efforts.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      I didn’t know you lived that close to San Andreas. But yeah, I remember you shared your own experience in an earthquake some years back. Scary stuff.😦 Let’s both keep safe, okay? =)

      We’ve been glued to the news stations for breaking updates from Japan, but it’s really the stories of survival and small acts of kindness that I look forward to the most. It’s also so encouraging to see the nations of the world coming together to stand with Japan during these dark times.🙂

  4. Peggy Says:

    I was glad to read your post EG. I cannot get it into my head that such a huge shaking of the earth could happen over such a huge area and then very quickly bring the tsunami. It seemed to me it happened so fast. It must be an immense movement under the area in the ocean. I cannot get it out of my head that the wave of water moved so fast and with such power. I remember being knocked off my feet once standing at the waters’ edge ankle deep. A wave came and the current had enough power to put me down in a flash. So many people were caught up with cars and houses and it is almost impossible to think of it.The Japanese people are so fine in their actions, waiting in line to get some bread or noodles and water. No pushing or frantic measures. It would not be like that in many countries.
    We can send help and good thoughts and prayers.
    I have been in a fairly strong earthquake and it is not enjoyable. Like being in an air raid, there is nothing you can do. So I just stayed in bed. Really.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Peggy!😀 Well at least you didn’t panic when the earthquake hit. I don’t think I’d be that calm — I’d probably hide under my bed and not stay in it, lol.🙂

      I agree, the way the Japanese people have been holding up in this crisis is nothing short of amazing. Even the CNN/BBC correspondents were marveling at the level of discipline, civility and self-control that they were seeing on the streets of Japan, even in the hardest-hit areas where people have lost everything. My heart goes out to them even more.

  5. doozy Says:

    Out of all the natural disasters, such as hurricanes, storms, fires, monsoons, I’m most afraid of earthquakes, partly because I live in a location that earthquake-prone but mostly because they’re unpredictable and when they hit, there’s really nothing one can do except stay in bed (like Peggy) or run outside and pray for it to be over soon.

    Every time I watch the news and see the devastating pictures, my heart sinks a little. The damages and lives lost in this earthquake and tsunami are unfathomable.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Hiya doozy🙂 Yeah, it’s natural disasters like these that remind us of how tiny and ephemeral we humans are compared to the earth’s large-scale processes.😦 Makes you stop and think of what’s truly important in life, ne?

      Like you, I get the jim-jams at the mere mention of an earthquake. Pretty traumatic stuff, huh? (When our last big quake hit, I was ten and in gymnastics class, hanging from the uneven bars. When the entire gym started shaking I grabbed my younger sister and we ran straight for the exit, barefoot and in our leotards. Luckily nobody in the building was hurt :-)) But our country is nowhere freaking near the level of disaster-preparedness that Japan is on, so… yikes =P I just hope and pray that wherever we are, we will all be spared the devastation and loss brought by such events.

  6. TheBigBadWolf Says:

    OMG before the quake happen i was watching a movie called japan sinks, then this happen T_T.

  7. Ellen Says:

    Somehow the sad songs make me feel better.

  8. Ellen Says:

    It’s a song from the 1960’s, Ue wo Muite Arukou. Places I’ve heard it before (outside of Shintaku in Cannes) are in Karei naru Ichizoku (just a bit) and a really good version in Oguri Shun’s drama, Binbo Danshi. But Shintaku is my fave. Love when Kimura sings it all out, like no one is listening.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Oh, I remember this clip! Definitely one of the highlights of ShinTaku’s Cannes jaunt a few years back. Wasn’t this during their visit to some high-end designer’s vacation house? For one unfamiliar with the context of this clip, I can just imagine how utterly random the lone European dude (actually the caretaker of the estate) would look, lol😀

      Lovely but sad song — if I recall this was remade as an English pop ditty titled “Sukiyaki.” Dunno if the English lyrics had anything to do with the original, though. ^^; But Shingo and Kimura gave a very moving performance. Really nice of you to share this, Ellen.🙂

  9. jicks Says:

    Hello🙂 This is awesome of you doing a simple msg to express your thoughts towards the Japan disaster and posting a “How to help” link.

    I wanted to comment a few days ago but had no idea know what to say. I still really don’t~~… but I’ve realised that, like you said in another comment, events like this really do remind us what is truly important in life. We should really appreciate everyone & everything in this world because it truly is a beautiful place^^

    And we can definitely all help out! Whether it is by a monetary donation via one of the organisations you linked, or even something as simple as a prayer- large, medium or small- every single thing helps. The people of Japan have certainly shown us this over the past week. And I know I’m not alone when I say this- as much as my heart continues to ache for them, this fighting spirit of theirs is also positively moving me. All the generous donations from corporate companies, CEOs, athletes & celebs… some of the figures are completely mind-boggling (did you see Yonsama’s contribution? What a good man. I’m thinking even it’s good enough to sway me into giving his next movie or series a consideration :)) And it’s been so cool seeing many manga artists churn out super inspirational drawings during such a testing time❤

    And also the msgs left by the artists of JE- have you had a chance to read them yet? (Here's the linkie for ya just in case ;)-
    http://www.tokyohive.com/2011/03/johnny-associates-members-leave-messages-regarding-the-disaster-part-1-2/)

    Always knew those boys aren't just a bunch of pretty faces… hearts of gold, too ^_^

    Not much else to say but-
    Nihon, ganbatte!!❤

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      jicks!!!😀 Yeah, it’s so encouraging to see celebs in Japan joining forces and pooling resources to help the whole country pull through.

      “(did you see Yonsama’s contribution? What a good man. I’m thinking even it’s good enough to sway me into giving his next movie or series a consideration🙂 )” << lololol😀 Well maybe I'd go as far as watching the anime version of Winter Sonata… AND throw in Legend for good measure (none of which I’ve seen… yet). =P But yeah, so the man has a heart of gold (and it wasn’t just his burnished mane that was gold after all, lol). I mean, I knew he was a bajillionaire and all, but the amount that he donated was pretty staggering for any celebrity. Yonsama Gives Back!😀

      Thanks for the Tokyohive linky! Hahaha, the group messages were sweet to read — even if they were basically all permutations of the same thing.😀 I heard your Tackey (and, er, his Tsubasa lol) were seen loading relief goods a coupla days ago. Cool. Very cool. And Johnny’s heavy-equipment trucks must be trundling off to the Tohoku as we speak. Ganbatte!😉

      • jicks Says:

        ^^I tried with The Legend but… Yonsama just looked wrong to me in period costume. And I dunno, Lee Ji Ah just doesn’t do it for me. My mother LOVED it though. Actually, I think she is a Bae Yong Jun fangirl. Pretty sure she’s raved about his beaming smile many times in the past gaha -O-;

        I do have every intention of getting around to the Winter Sonata… Just.Not.Right.This Second. LOL. BYJ & Cho Ji Woo voice it yeah?

        I heard your Tackey (and, er, his Tsubasa lol
        ^^This really made me chuckle! ^O^;;; but yah, I did hear of them getting all hands on *sheds tear* Speaking of such action, your boy’s friend (<<-I hope you read that right, tehe) Koki recently dropped by a shelter to spend time with many victims of the disaster. The tough face rapper boy was signing autographs & bringing smiles to the people🙂🙂 Seems like Johnny-san really is the man😉

        • Ender's Girl Says:

          Yep, BYJ and CJW reprised their roles in the WS anime. At least they didn’t have to record their voices at the same time — your mom probably knows this, but they were kind of… “on” during WS but he broke her heart and she vowed never to work with him again — which is why the WS movie version had to be scrapped. Gahhh the things you did up from the gossip rags (and remember 8 years later) when you’re a Yonsama fangarrrrl… @__@

          Omo, I heard about Koki too! I hope he didn’t scare any of the kids, lol. But seriously, that was so sweet of him. I never saw him in this light before! Funny how circumstances have a way of bringing out certain sides to celebrities that we never knew about.🙂

          If you happened to be in Japan at the moment, would you be joining the Marching J Caravan of Happiness? I know I would, lol😀

          • jicks Says:

            ^^Read rumours about BYJ & CJW but you know, never really 100% believe everything until there is photographic evidence & confirmed first-hand witness accounts, lol. Lee Byung Hun was the first Korean actor to get me fangirling towards the country so I guess I was rooting against Yonsama for that reason, haha (I must’ve thought LBH’s smile was more teethy, lol.)

            If you happened to be in Japan at the moment, would you be joining the Marching J Caravan of Happiness? I know I would, lol😀
            ^^You bet sister!!! Will confess, Kimura’s speech was, so Kimura xDD Got the heart wavering back in his direction again that’s for sure.

            And yes, I would’ve liked for Jinny boy to there in person as well~~ but hey, the video msg was nice & sincere :))

  10. jana Says:

    Hi E.G.,

    long time no see! Finally I was able to send my contribution to help people in Japan so now I feel I can join this discussion and share some thoughts with you all🙂 I planned a trip to Japan this year but after the nuclear plant tragedy I’ve almost given up on it. I’ve cried many times watching the devastated towns in the news, still Japanese people are so strong, everyone in my country admire the way they deal with the disaster.

    It’s amazing how many people from all over the world tries to help Japan. It seems that every Japanese celebrity donates a huge amount of money including our JE-idols🙂 I watched yesterday’s Marching J event on youtube and it was kind of weird, but as far as it helps the victims, it’s OK to be there for both sides🙂

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      jana!!! Lol, has it really been that long? It’s like we never were apart😀

      I’m sorry to hear about your canceled Japan trip. I would’ve LOVED to schedule a Japan tour too (lol that sounds so… JE), but not like this, you know?:-/ And with the current radioactivity contamination issues, I doubt that tourism in Japan will be picking up any time soon.😦 It’s gonna be an added blow to their economy (Japan being one of the world’s most visited countries and all), but I can see why travelers would not want to risk it. The future just seems so troubled and uncertain at this point. I don’t know where we’d be if we didn’t all have that little thing we call hope.🙂

      “I watched yesterday’s Marching J event on youtube and it was kind of weird” << Hehe, weird how? I'm more intrigued than ever. Must look up the vids on Youtube too… xP

      • jana Says:

        Speaking of weird I meant the Japanese/Johnny’s way of organizing a charity event. From my “western” point of view I felt like something really treasurable is displayed just for a short time and people have to queue for six hours to be able to see it once in a lifetime (actually it reminded me of my personal experience years ago when I queued in a freezing weather for long hours just to pass by our coutry’s crown jewels).🙂

        Actually if I were in Tokyo right now, I would go to Yoyogi Gym place no matter how long I would wait, haha🙂 Western artists usually do a live aid gig but there’s an electricity shortage in Japan so under the circumstances maybe it’s the best solution they could find. Let’s hope things will get better.

        • Ender's Girl Says:

          Your country has crown jewels??? *is jealous*😀 Well I hope you managed to get a long good look at them, after all you went through! Marching Jewels = Marching J = Marching Johnnies… you’re right about the analogy, they’re practically interchangeable! Heh heh =P

          Hahaha, I’ll just bet you would’ve wanted to be there in Yoyogi and see those Johnnies trotted out en masse. (I’d have been right there with you! lullzz)🙂 I saw a few clips of Marching J. Totally LOLd when V6’s Morita Go was caught on cam being the only one among the Johnnies singing in the background who didn’t know the Sekai ni Hitotsu Dekai no Hana hand signs. I always knew he wasn’t exactly a law-abiding citizen, lol


Leave a Reply

