Poll # 1: What is your favorite Kimura dorama?

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Misc, Pollz, The Kimura Project

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

54 Comments on “Poll # 1: What is your favorite Kimura dorama?”

  1. Peggy Says:

    E.G

    You are wicked.
    You know quite well it is not possible to choose one drama or film that Kimura has done. He does so many roles so well and usually the stories are supervised by very good directors. Who could be better than the ‘Love and Honour’ director..? I loved ‘Pride’ of course and it is the one drama that I have always used to hook people in to the Kimura magnetic circle. It never fails.

    I always enjoyed the OST of
    Love Generation’ It was a light love story and Kimura was just getting to be over his teen age ‘donkeyness’ that all boys go through. At last we could see the real sexy charm which would be a lasting quality for his future. The ‘showing off and howling at the moon’ was no longer necessary.

    I have to say for (the first time) that I never was on the Kimura Matsu bandwagon. I thought it silly to think of them as anything but a celluloid couple. He was what I call a ‘street smart rogue’ and she was just a ‘schoolgirl crush’. I am sure she was wrapped up in feelings for Kimura but she never would be the type of woman for him. Too sweet, and at that time innocent. Not the meal for Kimura. She is a good actor and makes a lot of money with her songs. She comes from a great Kabuki family but she has been sheltered. Her marriage is surprising.
    Kimura just goes on and on enjoying every minute of every day and absorbing energy from everyone he touches. That’s a Scorpio for you.
    Favourite drama or film????? Certainly anything after ‘Long Vacation’ and I personally liked ‘FlyBoys’ one of the early ones. But that’s just me.
    ‘Grand Family’ Definitely yes and that had a great cast around Kimura.

    Might as well stop, because any title would be acceptable. Not that excited about all of ‘Mr.Brain’. Patchy I thought.

    He looks good in the CM they are making in NYC for the phone company. Amazing how immense Kimura is onscreen and in real life he is such a small intense package. It’s not just camera technique.. he just has something about him that overwhelms people.

    Peggy

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Hahahaha Peggy I guess that’s why (as of press time), the “E.G., you EEJIT!” choice is getting the 2nd most votes (after Pride). πŸ™‚ Hahaha, I suppose it IS rather hard to decide, given all those memorable KimuTaku drama roles. I have my top 5 faves that I love head and shoulders above the rest of his dramas, but yeahhh, it sucks to have to choose just one. (Don’t ask me which one I picked! Lol) Still, I’m really interested in how this poll’s results will pan out. *strokes chin*

      Re the LoveGen OST, oh I like it a LOT (though not as much as its Soul Sister, the Long Vacation OST). It’s that Ohtaki Eiichi opening number (Shiawase na Ketsumatsu) I can’t stand, from the drippy opening strains all the way to the “baby you’re mah-hah-iiine” (3x) at the end, lol. That sappy little song feels like something you’d hear at a roadside jukebox joint. I mean, honestly. But my fave track on the OST would have to be Cagnet’s Love Generation. πŸ™‚

  2. raye Says:

    you didn’t add Mr. brain….


  3. I voted for the first Kimura Takuya drama I ever watched.

    Truth be told, I haven’t watched that many…

    Beautiful Life
    Long Vacation
    Pride
    Sleeping Forest

    Still in the process of watching Grand Tribe because the subs are so bad in the copy I have!!!

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Yay, someone finally voted for Beautiful Life! Lol. Thanks, TC! Haha I had a feeling that drama was extra special to you… πŸ˜‰


      • Near the end, when Kimura was doing her hair and make up, the handling was so low key, and then my tears just started falling…

        “I made you beautiful… why won’t you smile?” Sorry, just quoting from memory.

        I love the very last scene with the girl in his own place by the sea…

      • kirei Says:

        Beautiful life.. yeah.. things about that drama was so extra special.. the heart warming scenes is just too much.. and the warm scene in the ending where shuji made the room arrangement as exact as the one keiko drew before.. and when the little girl asked him about the picture of her *a picture or her or a picture of by her, i can’t remember*.. just can’t held it.. T.

        that scene after that long shattering moments of him doing make up to sleeping kyoko.. there’s no stop to this film..

  4. Jenny Says:

    For some reason I love Engine, all the kids and the adult who is basically on the same level as them very cute.

    But I always thought that kimutaku is quite overrated(he is a good actor)personally I like Kusanagi better.
    You should watch ninkyo helper.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Lol, yeah Kimura’s Jiro was the biggest kid of all in that foster home. Loved the way he manhandled those tykes a quarter of his size, haha.

      I actually haven’t seen any of the other SMAP dudes in their respective doramas (some Smappy I am, heh), but I recently acquired Ninkyo Helper because I’ve been hearing so much about Tsuyoshi’s acting ability. Plan to watch it very soon. πŸ™‚

  5. Jenny Says:

    I love the scene where the little boy who does not want to be adopted hides in Jiro’s room so adorable ❀
    I forgot one. Actually I do have one very good drama with Kimutaku that I like, Karei naru Ichizoku.
    I was surprised how good it was, it has a very good cast and the story even though it sounds dull is very good.
    Ninkyo Helper was one of the best draman of the season, I think amidst all the craze.
    But if you like a hilarious drama watch Kankuro Kudo's Kisarazu cat's eye.

  6. Peggy Says:

    The drama ‘Karei Naru Ichizoku’ is certainly anything but dull. It was a powerful novel and this second drama rendition was equally powerful and full of family ambitions and jealousy. The fatherfigure in this new presentation acted as the son some years ago. This would make it very interesting for him to see Kimura playing the role of the son. I would think for Kimura it may have been a little bit of a decision to decide how to play this. I wondered if he ever watched the early drama. This was one great cast and all really good actors. Kimura used his acting talent to the full extent but he never went overboard. The role was extremely emotional and he conveyed all the feeling of anger and misery and the harsh treatment from the father without chewing the scenery. I loved this drama and I loved Kimura as a very serious actor, and still some critics could not admit his worth. I’ll never understand why some people cannot say a good word for Kimura.

  7. phalaenopsys Says:

    “E.G., you EEJIT, how DARE you make me choose just ONE??? Poll FAIL!!!!! FAIL!!!!!!” lol this is hilarious and i actually like more than one dorama but karei naru ichizoku i think is the best done and show his acting skills and that he can do more than the same romantic role. Btw nice blog and i love your reviews and comments!!

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Lol, I know should’ve included Karei, but I’m not done watching it, so… πŸ˜‰ But yeah, if I could redo the poll I’d definitely throw it in, it’s the one drama I regret omitting. Y____Y

      • phalaenopsys Says:

        i watched it twice and i could watch it again but i keep crying even tough i know already the story and the soundtrack is something really amazing!!

  8. jicks3 Says:

    lol Basically if someone was threatening to set my Kimura Takuya dorama collection on fire & forcing me to choose just the one, I would say Long Vacation. It is just the ultimate feel-good story ❀

    Apart from that, I thought he & Tokiwa Takako made a freaking gorgeous couple in Beautiful Life. Did anyone else squeal every time he used his feet to swing her in her wheelchair around to face him (or was that just me lol)?? xDD

  9. Peggy Says:

    jicks3

    No it was me as well. I always thought that maybe Kimura did this by instinct and knowing that it was a charming move. Maybe the director was in charge but it seemed just like a Kimura thing to me. It was a perfect action and you could never forget it.
    Peg

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Did I squeal when Kimura pulled that insidious little wheelchair stunt??????? Nearly had a freakin’ aneurysm is what. That bloody bastard, lol.

      “a Kimura thing” => YESSSSS. Exactly. πŸ˜‰

  10. Georgina Says:

    OH man! It’s so difficult to choose my favourite Kimura drama! Very much like you, my first Kimura drama was Pride. I had heard of him before but never understood the craze about him. Until I watched Pride. And then I watched Good Luck! Then I saw Long Vacation and was puzzled that I would actually like such an ‘old drama’ ( silly me). I could go on cuz I’ve actually seen pretty much all Kimura dramas. I think all of them are fantastic at their own ways, whether he’s been downright creepy or downright sexy.If I have to choose one, I think it’s CHANGE. I love him with Fukatsu Eri, their chemistry and their relationship was superb. I know it’s such an idealistic and blah blah but what do I say, I am a sucker for idealistic politic dramas. I still need to finish Karei naru Ichizoku ( I found the first episodes to be very thrilling) but for some reason I can’t bring myself to go on XD

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Whoopsie, I guess I should’ve included all of Kimura’s dramas instead of just a handful. Sorry that Change ain’t on the list. XD

      Long Vacation never felt dated to me, and I watched it 13 years after its airing. That drama’s production values don’t have that outmoded feel–unlike, say, Love Generation or Hero. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why LV is the classic that it is. –That, and its awesome script/acting/music. πŸ™‚

      • Georgina Says:

        Hahaha, it’s okay. As I said, it’s actually a very close tie.

        Nono, it didn’t feel outdated when I watched it either — just thought it would feel prior to actually watching it. I really really liked LV, and I wish they would film dramas like that nowadays, but they can’t seem to be so character-focus, so character-development anymore.

        • Ender's Girl Says:

          Yeah, LV is like, the frickin’ gold standard of rom-dramas. (Why the hey do you think Buzzer Beat tried sooooo desperately to be like it? *roll eyes*) Anyway, they don’t do love stories like dat no mo’, oh no no. Y__Y

          I mean, I was a teenager in the ’90s, so had I discovered Jdoramas back then, Kimura would naturally have been my Ultimate Hot Young Idol whatever. But teenagers these days just have the likes of YamaPi and Kame to make them squee, so I kind of feel sorry for them. πŸ™‚ You know Jdoramaland is going to the (Tokyo) dogs when the most visible young leading men around are… a pretty block of wood, and a cross-dressing pole dancer. X__o

          • Georgina Says:

            Rofl! Yeah, I think if I had discovered Kimura Takuya back in the 90’s my obssesion on him would be really scary now hahaha. Back then I was just stuck on manga/anime ( was also a teen too :3). Then again, access to japanese culture on the 90’s was just not happening. Actually Buzzer Beat reminded me more of Pride than LV, and I kept thinking, does Yamapi think he has the same charisma as Halu?! Man, he’s as expressive as a rock!
            So yeah, I also sort of pitty teenagers because they get heart-empty dramas with such little or fake skinship that it’s downright laugheable!

  11. kirei Says:

    may i??
    beautiful life is the words. reason? ill be insane if i could deliver all that i had in mind to writing.. just too many. it’s not just about sad moments, not about tragic destiny.. it’s about bond between the two main cast.. the classic up and down moments, the build-up, the calm moments *remember the part when shuji and kyoko talk in the phone at a really “light”-less scene??* , the memorable moments, like the what is the world look like from the height of 100cm scene, then the scene when kyoko ask shuji to do drawing of their future barbershop.. and also not to forget the beautiful monologues…

    after BL, long vacation and love generation follows.. love both for each unique reason.

    after that… just a little bit hard to choose.. maybe putting pride and karei naru ichizoku above nemureru, sora kara furu and then engine, good luck, hero, change in equal..

    i have watched love and honour too and i agree, it’s a good movie but im not really into that kinda movies.. i love samurai films for their action, not the drama’s side..

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      “after BL, long vacation and love generation follows.. love both for each unique reason.” – I know, right? They’re very different dramas, but although LV was better made (the writing! production values! ensemble acting!), I don’t love LoveGen any less. Weird, but true. πŸ™‚

  12. Peggy Says:

    I have already done a posting about Kimura and his dramas. I want to add something about his acting. Many say he is not a good actor. I have to disagree if only to point out that Kimura is not just an actor. For twenty years he has been mainly an entertainer with his SMAP group. They do so many things as a group and they have had to learn to do so much outside of the area of acting alone. If Kimura had started out as an actor and stayed with that only, he would be a much more rounded actor and have a much stronger and deeper background because he would have been able to concentrate his pure talent in that one area.It boggles the mind to appreciate all he has done as an actor plus all the activities as a SMAP member. His talents in the comedy field with Sanma Akashiya are pure gold. He really has a depth for all phases of show business, and I think he should get much credit for his acting because he spreads his many talents so far and wide. I think he is a good actor and will only get better once he experiences more chances in different roles. As a romantic lover he has no peers at all. He is the best.
    I should stop right????
    Peg

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Well, he’s definitely hardworking and multi-talented. And the best leading man out there. πŸ™‚ I get what you mean about spreading himself (too thinly? I hope not) over all these areas in the entertainment biz. But he’s been doing dramas almost every year since 1992 (and sometimes even multiple dramas in a year), so it’s not like he hasn’t had enough opportunities to develop his acting talent. Maybe in the realm of movies, yeah, I wish he had done more films, esp. during those 9 years that he was absent from the big screen.

    • ridia :p Says:

      i just wanted to give a hearty “AYE AYE” Peggy! No, don’t stop! He IS the best. I don’t know if I should be comparing him with the other SMAP members but, at times he just seems more serious about what he does than them. I’ve watched SmapXSmap segments where they do impromptu acting and he doesn’t go tripping up over his lines and laugh about it. And you’re right to say as a romantic love, he has no peers at all! He knows he has the looks and I think he maximises that factor to its fullest potential (because good looks sometimes fall flat when these actors seem to thinking flashing their face all over the screen would do).

      “there is never too much of Kimura….just not quite enough at times.”

      “I wish he had done more films, esp. during those 9 years that he was absent from the big screen.”

      My sentiments exactly πŸ˜€ And i do have faith that there will be more Takuya greatness to come!

  13. Peggy Says:

    I don’t think Kimura spreads himself thinly in any way. Maybe occasionally they all thin out in some singing depending on the song. Kimura gives 100%-plus, whatever he is doing. I think he draws extra energy from those around him. It must be daunting to play any emotional scene with him, man or woman. He has the instinct for the right move. Like an animal in a way but he has already thought it all out at home and has all the dialogue both his own and the other cast and then all he has to concentrate on is the timing and the moves. He really has something extra I think. My thought about his acting is that if he had been able to just act he would now be up there with the best Kabuki or any stage actor and certainly he would be in film all the time.
    Of course I am happy that I can watch him every week on the SMAP shows and his Santaku shows. there is never too much of Kimura….just not quite enough at times.

    Peg

  14. gaijin mark Says:

    I hate to say it EG, but you left my favorite one out, “Gift”.

    Great supporting cast, especially Satomi Kobayashi, Mitsuko Baisho as the lady cop and Ryoko Shinohara as the ditzy, airhead hooker.

    No real logical reason why I like it so much, I just do!!

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Forgive me, dear gaijinmark, but this poll was cobbled together in a state of ignorance, laziness and extreme prejudice. When I (prematurely) made this post I had not yet seen Kimura’s full dramaography, and of the dramas I had seen, I chose only those that made a significant impact on me. Didn’t bother including the ones I didn’t like as much. Very selfish, I know πŸ˜€ That’s why you won’t find the likes of Karei (which I’ve since seen and loved, but am too scared to review lol) or Gift in this poll. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the rec of Gift, though. I’ve been putting off acquiring this drama since my local dealer (lol it’s like I’m buying drugs or something) doesn’t have it at the moment. So it looks like I’ll actually have to download it myself, rats! Lol πŸ˜›

  15. gaijin mark Says:

    EG, not to worry. Shortly after I first started watching dramas I heard all these raves about this Kimura guy, so I decided to check him out. The first drama of his I saw was “Good Luck” which was okay and that was my impression of him, “Eh, he’s okay.” I didn’t see what the fuss was all about.

    The next drama of his I was was “Beautiful Life” and while it was much better than “Good Luck”, I still wasn’t convinced.

    Then I saw “Long Vacation”. The rest, as they say, is history.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Ooooh, I didn’t know you were a Long Vacation fan! πŸ˜€ (I dunno, but for some reason I always assumed that Sora Kara… was your KimuTaku Gateway Drama. :-P)

      Clarification re Beautiful Life: did you like this drama but you just weren’t too crazy over Kimura’s performance, or did you not like this drama period? I mean, were you into the story and the other performances — except Kimura’s — or was the whole thing just not your cuppa tea? πŸ˜‰ See, I have this perverse compulsion to know, gaijinmark! I NEED TO KNOW!!! lollll πŸ˜›

  16. Peggy Says:

    Dear E.G
    I am not sure where to put this post. Please move it if necessary. It is really about a video not a drama. It is a conversation that Kimura had with a retired football player.(soccer). It was in a bar and I am not sure when it happened but I don’t think it was very recent.The footballer was Nakata Hidetoshi. He himself had a very magnetic personality. However, what I was truly struck by, was the sheer seductive aura all around Takuya Kimura. He could have been playing a role trying to get a girl. He will surely pull you right into the screen. I will look for your posted reaction. Just write Nakata into your browser. It should bring up several videos but there are two that encompass this particular conversation.They talked about football and athletics etc. They were surprised when they found out that Kimura was a Kendo expert. How could such a charmer be into such a serious Japanese martial art was the impression they gave me. Truly a Man for all Seasons….

  17. Peggy Says:

    This is link

    Conversation around 2000..before marriage.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Two hot men in a bar, talking sports?!??!?! Why is this not subbed, Peggy? WHY IS THIS NOT SUBBED??!?!?!? Hahahahahahha πŸ˜€ (Someday I’m gonna rip this video and make up my own subtitles so that both men will be ACTUALLY TALKING ABOUT THE TWO OF US, HAHAHAHA. The dirtier the conversation, the better, HAHAHAHAH)

      Ooohhh this was TOTALLY around 2000 — he was still wearing his Beautiful Life hair!!! πŸ˜› And you’re right, “magnetic” and “seductive” and all those lovely, lovely things are the perfect words to describe this video. I love you for posting this!!! *hugs* πŸ˜€

  18. Peggy Says:

    I really think we have seen almost the last of that era of Kimura. He was still young enough to not give a damn and he still enjoyed using all his charms at any time there was someone to enjoy his stuff. At the same time he was still pulling all the energy out of anyone near him. Scorpios can do that without even trying. Now of course he does not even have to try so blatantely but he still melts my bones. Yes I agree I would like to have this video translated. It was quite a long effort so would have been interesting I think.

  19. Peggy Says:

    My keyboard does not know how to spell ‘blatantly’
    Well maybe it did not agree with that word being used about Kimura. Actually Kimura was never blatant was he. Too intelligent to do that. Just had to be there and everyone would give him anything, anywhere, any time.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      Lol, never mind the typo, your keyboard was probably just feeling a little ornery that day πŸ™‚

      “I really think we have seen almost the last of that era of Kimura. He was still young enough to not give a damn and he still enjoyed using all his charms at any time there was someone to enjoy his stuff.” << Quite well-said. But oh Peggy, this really made me feel sad a for a few minutes! 😦 I miss Young Hot Recklessly-in-love Kimura, too!!! And I'm afraid we'll never see him in a ren'ai that's as romantic and emotionally rewarding as his Golden Age dramas. Q__Q

  20. gaijin mark Says:

    (Beautiful Life spoilers ahead! Tags added by E.G.)

    EG,

    “Beautiful Life” was a very good drama. I think Takako’s character kind of turned me off. I remember being more impressed with Miki Mizuno and I really liked Atsuro Watabe as Kyoko’s way too over protective older brother.

    I dunno, I remember getting a little freaked out during the scene when Kimura is doing her makeup after she’s died. I remember thinking, “Where the hell is this going???”

  21. gaijin mark Says:

    Cue up the Twilight Zone theme!! Somebody over at JDorama wanted a rec for Tokiwa Takako, so naturally, I steered them towards “Beautiful Life”.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      “nininineee-nininineee-nininineee-nininineee…” (that WAS the Twilight Zone theme btw, lol)

      Well at least you didn’t rec Long Love Letter, ahahahaha πŸ˜›

      I think I loved all characters on BL equally. But yeah, Watabe Atsuro and Mizuno Miki were indeed terrific. And writing brother characters is one of Kitagawa Eriko’s strongest qualities, IMO. πŸ™‚

  22. gaijin mark Says:

    Bad news, kids. The person over at JDorama that I recommended “Beautiful Life” to finished it said he hated it. He said he was expecting “a heartwarming melodrama”. Which I guess means he expected a “lives happily ever after” ending. Oh well, can’t please everybody.

    • Ender's Girl Says:

      *dashes off to JDorama*

      *dashes back*

      Tokiwa Takako, “scary and weird”? No chemistry, not even “fake/acting chemistry”? KimuTaku acting “purely disgusted” in the hospital scene wasn’t scripted, but was probably because he felt “repulsed” by Tokiwa off-camera? @___@

      LOL did we even watch the SAME Jdrama??? x_O

      Oh well. Like you said, you can’t please everybody. One fangirl’s meat is another fan’s poison… πŸ˜‰

      • Peggy Says:

        Ack !!! Really choking here. I agree that we did not watch the same drama. I find it strange that certain persons will heave sarcastic and mean opinions on Kimura. Yet if anyone murmurs the slightest criticism of another young and boring Japanese actress, (who always plays a role in the same fashion), he will immediately grab for a katana and seek vengeange.(How do you spell that word??)Looks funny. I have given up saying anything when I get pissed off with the wrong people saying the worst things about Kimura. It is something I can’t understand, since they obviously do not have any basic knowledge of Kimura at all. I can agree that some Japanese actresses have no way of responding to a strong actor in a scene. It does not necessarily have to be Kimura. They don’t have the inner emotions because they are thinking about camera angles which favor them I think.Just for the record Kimura was not disgusted …he was scared how his character might hurt the Takako character in her physical state. She had to show him that she was normal except for the weakness that overcame her at times. I never saw disgust.
        I also never saw Kimura as a ‘lout’ or ‘cad’..
        and while I am at it I suggest that the ‘asianfan’ watch other dramas and films that Kimura has made in which he plays entirely different characters in the most serious and fully artistic theatrical style as befits a seasoned actor.
        I think I need a cup of tea.

  23. Peggy Says:

    Is it spelled vengeance??? Easier to guess than look it up of course. I think that earthquake in Japan affected my grey cells. I keep thinking about all those people who vanished from the land. Can’t quite put my understanding around it at all. Now an aftershock of 7.4… I think there have been 500 aftershocks. I think of being here on the California coast not far from nuclear site and the immensity of a 9.0 quake. Boggles the mind.

  24. gaijin mark Says:

    Peggy,
    I know the feeling. Awhile back, they were talking over at JDorama about making some changes. I felt like suggesting, “Why not change the name of the site to JUeno.com? That way people would have a much better idea of what the site is all about.”

    But I restrained myself.

    • Peggy Says:

      πŸ™‚
      Gajinmark…What a lovely surprise to read your last post. Like you I have to restrain myself at times. I really do love Jdramas and Korean dramas. I can never quite enjoy the truly mean bashing of any actor or actress. I know I have likes and dislikes. I certainly will go overboard for Kimura and SMAP and one or two other actors but I can never understand the really nasty remarks. They don’t really have any good effect except to make me heartily dislike the writer, I don’t even know who they are!! so now I don’t waste my energy on any reply. Except here on dear Ender’s girl blog. She knows me so well and puts up with me.

      • Ender's Girl Says:

        @ Peggy

        Heh heh. Only ‘coz you care to put up with my frequent bouts of brainless spazzing, m’dear. ;-*

        “Just for the record Kimura was not disgusted …he was scared how his character might hurt the Takako character in her physical state. She had to show him that she was normal except for the weakness that overcame her at times. I never saw disgust. I also never saw Kimura as a β€˜lout’ or β€˜cad’..” << Great analysis you did in your previous comments, by the way. πŸ™‚ I don't think it was disgust that Shuji was feeling either. Hesitation, awkwardness and a little fear yes, because he wasn't used to dealing with a paraplegic — especially if she happened to be a spirited young woman who always seemed to be getting under his skin — in short, someone completely different from anyone he'd ever met before. At least, that's how I understood the dynamics of the scene to be. Unless of course we get all post-structural and stuff, and say that each viewer's individual perception or interpretation is just as valid as (if not more than) those of the screenwriter and actors who brought the scene to life. πŸ™‚ I guess what I'm trying to say is that my issue isn't with the commenter's like or dislike for Kimura/Tokiwa Takako/etc. I just can’t get my mind around the fact that someone interpreted the scene and characters so differently from how most fans of BL did. And I guess what I’m also trying to say is that I’m not a big fan of post-structuralism, either. πŸ˜›

        @ gaijinmark

        πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  25. Peggy Says:

    “I guess what I’m trying to say is that my issue isn’t with the commenter’s like or dislike for Kimura/Tokiwa Takako/etc. I just can’t get my mind around the fact that someone interpreted the scene and characters so differently from how most fans of BL did. And I guess what I’m also trying to say is that I’m not a big fan of post-structuralism, either”

    Hi E.G
    I like that comment. It really is so obvious in most cases, that the mean words are not a true critique of Kimura or his work. It is someone who has not even watched the piece at times. It is just a show of almost envy or jealousy for the way admirers can express their opinions re the way he can tackle a character and bring it to life, and we can show our enthusiasm about the drama or film. The fact that we like Kimura anyway does not cloud our perception of what he does with a role. There are a couple of projects which I did not enjoy too much but Kimura still does his 100% no matter what.

    I don’t think they are talking about any particular scene. It is a hard held opinion for a totally different reason….but who knows what is in their mind and why? Truly.. nowadays..who cares for their empty opinion.? Not Old Peg. I don’t even dust off my broom to hover over and rain doom on them. πŸ™‚

  26. Peggy Says:

    πŸ™‚ Gaginmark,

    Well I decided not to engage in a toe to toe on Ueno et al. I do want to be able to visit that forum now and then. Don’t really want to be struck off the list…

  27. noiha Says:

    i’ve just finished “hero” and now move onto different kimutaku drama. these past months i’ve marathoned “pride” and “beautiful life” as well in between my k-dramas crushes. thanks to your kimutaku dramas’ quick review in other post, i managed to locate great kimutaku dramas, and after finishing some, i thought i should drop by and say thanks here (i can’t seem to relocate that post though so i post here) ^^ they’re *reaaaalistic* as usual j-dramas, but they’re fun. honestly speaking, he’s not that all good actor, but he seems to pick interesting project. too bad he’s not that great anymore now, but he’s still my 3rd drama crush (1st abe hiroshi, 2nd fukuyama masaharu).

    ah, anyway, i vote for dark kimutaku in “sora kara furu ichioku no hoshi”~ he’s so qasagjdioagsuiajso sexy there. haha. πŸ™‚

  28. Peggy Says:

    Hello E.G. The old girl is still mobile. giving up the broomstick soon. Not that walking is any safer. Still keeping up with the MAN of course. Just read a translated writeup of a day at the shooting site with media and fans all around. He was bright and cheerful and enjoying all the actions. As usual he did not refer to his script but just went into the scenes as called. He knows all his dialogue and that of everyone else of course. His own script is marked up and totally thumb-eared from his initial reading. His mind is sharp as ever and he apparently was really sweet with the fans all around.
    Just like the planet, he never stops moving.

    Happy holidays, whichever and whenever. Can’t get my mind around 2013 yet.

  29. Peggy Says:

    Oh I almost forgot to say…Takuya Kimura is just as good if not greater than ever, both as an actor and as an entertainer. He is not growing older,
    he is just maturing into his new plateau in career and life.
    Just in case anyone is getting mistaken about his charm and talent and abilities.


Leave a comment